Specific area of literacy

Written by: Penny Webb
Monday, October 1, 2018

Continuing our exploration of the prime and specific areas of learning, this month we focus on the specific area of literacy and discuss how we can support the children in our settings.


Having covered the three Prime Areas of the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) in previous articles, my attention is now turning to the four Specific Areas of Learning.

As mentioned in my previous articles, childminders must remember that children should be secure in the Prime areas, before concentrating on the Specific areas. This is not to say that you should avoid the Specific areas until that point because children do not develop in straight lines and will naturally excel in some areas but not in others. In my opinion, trying to have a cut-off point between the Prime and Specific areas would go completely against the holistic nature of child development. If a child is interested in exploring an area more, then, of course, they should be supported to do so.

Register now to get access to more of our great articles.

Thank you for visiting Early Years Educator and making use of our archive of expert features, practical activity ideas and news. Why not register today and the enjoy the following great benefits:

  • Weekly email newsletters, providing you themed activity ideas, topical features and news
  • Unlimited access to news and selected features.
  • Access to 4 free articles per month from our practical database.
Register for free

Already registered? - Sign in here

Keep up to date with Early Years!

Sign up for our newsletter and keep up to date with Early Years education, process and events! We promise we won't spam you!